Open side-bar Menu
Donatella Sciuto, President of CEDA
Donatella Sciuto, President of CEDA
Ms. Sciuto received her Laurea in Electronic Engineering from the Politecnico di Milano in 1984. She received her Ph. D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1988 from the University of Colorado, Boulder. She received her MBA from the Scuola di DIrezione Aziendale, Bocconi University, in 1991. … More »

Nominations Are Open for Early Career, Phil Kaufman Awards

March 7th, 2012 by Donatella Sciuto, President of CEDA

My blog today is about nominations that are open for two prestigious awards. The first is the Early Career Award given by CEDA. The second is the Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to EDA, jointly sponsored by CEDA and the EDA Consortium. Both are presented annually.

The Early Career Award honors an individual who has made innovative and substantial technical contributions to EDA in the early stages of his or her career.

Full members of the IEEE at any level –– regular, senior, or fellow grades –– whose highest educational degree has been awarded no more than eight years prior to the date of the nomination deadline are eligible. The award is based on contributions measured by technical merit and creativity in performing research, and will be assessed based on the published record of the individual and references accompanying the nomination.

The award is intended to be equally available to contributors from academic and industrial institutions. Some of the specific criteria used will be the current and potential impact of the individual’s contributions, as well as contributions to the profession at large.

Past recipients are:
• In 2011, Valeria Bertacco from the University of Michigan received the award for exceptional contributions in the area of hardware verification, particularly for work on semi-formal verification, runtime and post-silicon verification and correctness-constrained execution.

Luca Daniel of MIT was the 2010 recipient for contributions to electromagnetic field analysis, parasitic variation-aware extraction and automated parameterized linear and non-linear stable model reduction.

Igor Markov from the University of Michigan was chosen as the first recipient of the Early Career Award in 2009 for outstanding contributions to algorithms, methodologies and software for the physical design of integrated circuits.

The Early Career Award will be presented at ICCAD in November. The deadline is April 15 and approaching fast. More details can be found in the Early Career Award nomination page found at:

The Phil Kaufman Award recognizes an individual from within EDA who has made a demonstrable impact that could be related to business, industry direction and promotion, technology and engineering, or educational and mentoring.

Dr. C. L. David Liu, the William Mong honorary chair professor of Computer Science and former president of the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan, was presented with the award last year. He joins a list of distinguished leaders and visionaries of EDA.

The deadline for submitting a nomination is June 30. The award will be presented at a dinner ceremony later in the year in Silicon Valley, Calif.

More details can be found at the Phil Kaufman Award page found at:

Please consider nominating a peer or someone you admire who’s made an impact in EDA.

For more information about CEDA, visit

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

TrueCircuits: IoTPLL

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise