Open side-bar Menu

Archive for June, 2011

Now Available: Video of DAC Lunch Presentation on Truths and Myths of Embedded Computing

Friday, June 24th, 2011

CEDA’s Distinguished Speaker Series video library now includes the talk by Shekhar Borkar, director of Intel’s Microprocessor Technology Lab, presented during DAC earlier this month.

Borker titled his presentation “Truths and Myths of Embedded Computing” and went on to describe how computers have become ubiquitous and well-accepted tools, while the embedded computing discipline does not get its fair share of attention. If you missed his presentation, don’t miss an opportunity to view the video recording that provides insight into building supercomputing capabilities with the efficiency of embedded computing. This talk is in sharp contrast to the “Beyond von Neumann architecture” talk presented by Steve Tieg last year, also available for viewing in our video library. We have Dwight Hill, principal engineer at Synopsys, to thank for organizing such a great talk from an engaging speaker.

The video, along with others from the Distinguished Speaker Series, can be found at:

For more information about CEDA, visit:

Four Achievement Awards to be Presented During DAC Next Week

Wednesday, June 1st, 2011

Please join us at DAC next week as we recognize outstanding contributions to EDA with the presentation of four achievement awards. They will be given during the opening session of DAC next Tuesday –– June 7 –– at the San Diego Convention Center.

It gives me great pleasure to announce the award recipients because they are all well-known and well-respected leaders of our industry, and highly deserving. Each one sets a high standard and example for the rest of us.

The first award is the Donald Pederson Award that recognizes the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design. Recipients are Professor Rob A. Rutenbar, Abel Bliss professor and department head of the Computer Science Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Amith Singhee, member of the research staff at IBM. They wrote “Statistical Blockade: Very Fast Statistical Simulation and Modeling of Rare Circuit Events and Its Application to Memory Design” that appeared in the August 2009 issue.

Up next is the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award, awarded jointly by CEDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SigDA), will be given to Professor Jason Cong of UCLA and Dr. Yuzheng (Eugene) Ding, senior staff software engineer at Xilinx. The award honors contributors whose impact is recognized over a significant period of time. Professor Cong and Dr. Ding will be recognized for their pioneering work on technology mapping for field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs).

The IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Contribution Award will be presented to Professor Sachin Sapatnekar from the University of Minnesota for significant service as the general chair of the 47th DAC.

During the session, Pasquale (Pat) O. Pistilli, chairman of MP Associates of Louisville, Colo., will receive the Phil Kaufman Award, presented by CEDA and the Electronic Design Automation Consortium.

DownStream: Solutions for Post Processing PCB Designs
TrueCircuits: IoTPLL

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise