DesignCon Celebrates More than 40 Professionals with 2017 Awards for Best Papers

DesignCon 2018 Call for Papers Opens Mid-May

SAN FRANCISCO, April 18, 2017 — (PRNewswire) —  DesignCon, the premier conference for chip, board and systems design engineers in the high-speed communications and semiconductor communities, announces the recipients of its Best Paper Awards following a successful DesignCon 2017 in Santa Clara, CA, on January 19-21. The winners are recognized for their outstanding contribution to the diverse educational goals of DesignCon. To view the full list of winners, visit:   

The 2017 DesignCon Best Paper Award winners have been selected through a two-step review process. First, the DesignCon Technical Program Committee, which is comprised of leading experts in the electronic design space, reviewed all papers for impact, relevance, quality, and originality. The first-round finalists were then judged based on attendee feedback, collected at DesignCon 2017, on the impact of their presentation. 

"Congratulations to all finalists and winners of this year's Best Paper Awards. UBM is pleased to recognize these outstanding papers as the best of the excellent content that DesignCon offers its attendees," said Naomi Price, DesignCon Conference Content Director. "Each year, this awards program inspires engineers to strive to produce ground-breaking, top-tier content for the technical sessions at DesignCon."

Winning papers cover four categories of design: Chip-Level Design, Board/System-Level Design, Serial Link Design, and Power & RF Design. A list of the winners is below:

Chip-Level Design

Characterizing and Selecting the VRM


Steve Sandler, Picotest


Board/System-Level Design

FastBER: A Novel Statistical Method for Arbitrary Transmitter Jitter


Yunhui Chu, Intel Corporation


Alaeddin Aydiner, Intel Corporation


Kai Xiao, Intel Corporation


Beomtaek Lee, Intel Corporation


Dan Oh, Samsung Electronics


Oleg Mikulchenko, Intel Corporation


Adam Norman, Intel Corporation Rob Friar, Intel Corporation


Charles Phares, Intel Corporation


Non-Destructive Analysis and EM Model Tuning of PCB Signal Traces using the Beatty Standard


Heidi Barnes, Keysight Technologies


José Moreira, Advantest


Manuel Walz, Advantest


RX IBIS-AMI Model Silicon Correlation Metrics and Model Development Methodology


Masashi Shimanouchi, Intel Corporation


Hsinho Wu, Intel Corporation


Mike Peng Li, Intel Corporation


Serial Link Design

Exploring Efficient Variability-Aware Analysis Method for High-Speed Digital Link Design Using PCE


Jan B. Preibisch, Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg


Torsten Reuschel, Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg


Katharina Scharff, Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg


Jayaprakash Balachandran, Cisco Systems Inc.


Bidyut Sen, Cisco Systems Inc.


Christian Schuster, Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg


Investigation of Mueller-Muller CDR Algorithms in PAM4 High speed Serial Links


Yuhan Yao, Oracle Corporation


Xun Zhang, Oracle Corporation


Dawei Huang, Oracle Corporation


Jianghui Su, Oracle Corporation


Muthukumar Vairavan, Oracle Corporation


Chai Palusa, Oracle Corporation


PCIe Gen4 Standards Margin Assisted Outer Layer Equalization for Cross Lane Optimization in a 16GT/s PCIe Link


Mohammad S. Mobin, Broadcom Ltd


Haitao Xia, Broadcom Ltd


Aravind Nayak, Broadcom Ltd


Gene Saghi, Broadcom Ltd


Christopher Abel, Broadcom Ltd


Lane Smith, Broadcom Ltd


Jun Yao, Broadcom Ltd


Power & RF Design

Cost-effective PCB Material Characterization for High-volume Production Monitoring


Yongjin Choi, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise


Christopher Cheng, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise


Yasin Damgaci, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise


Nagaraj Godishala, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise


Yuriy Shlepnev, Simberian


Overview and Comparison of Power Converter Stability Metrics


Joseph 'Abe' Hartman, Oracle


Alejandro 'Alex' Miranda, Oracle


Kavitha Narayandass, Oracle


Alexander Nosovitski, Oracle


Istvan Novak, Oracle


RFI and Receiver Sensitivity Analysis in Mobile Electronic Devices


Antonio Ciccomancini Scogna, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


Hwanwoo Shim, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


Jiheon Yu, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


Chang-Yong Oh, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


Seyoon Cheon, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


NamSeok Oh, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


Dong Sub Kim, Samsung Electronics Mobile Division, HE Group


1 | 2  Next Page »

Review Article Be the first to review this article
Featured Video
More Editorial  
Principle Electronic Design Engr for Cypress Semiconductor at San Jose, CA
Design Verification Engineer for intersil at Morrisville, NC
ASIC Hardware Engineer for BAE Systems Intelligence & Security at Arlington, VA
Senior Formal FAE Location OPEN for EDA Careers at San Jose or Anywhere, CA
Applications Engineer for intersil at Palm Bay, FL
Upcoming Events
Essentials of Digital Technology at MD - Feb 13 - 14, 2018
IPC APEX EXPO 2018 at San Diego Convention Center San Diego CA - Feb 24 - 1, 2018
DVCon US 2018 at Double Tree Hotel San Jose CA - Feb 26 - 1, 2018
5th EAI International Conference on Big data and Cloud Computing Challenges at Vandalur, Kelambakkam high road chennai Tamil Nadu India - Mar 8 - 9, 2018

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise