1Spatial announces web seminar to promote the OGC and the Data Quality Working Group

November 13, 2008 -- Following on from the recently released results of the Open Geospatial Consortium’s (OGC) global survey on spatial data quality, 1Spatial is delighted to announce a web seminar on 25th November to explain the current activities of the Data Quality Working Group (WG) and how to get involved.

The OGC Data Quality WG was created in 2007 with the goal of determining how data quality can be defined, measured and communicated. This can be achieved by using standards to help with the reuse of spatial data and in the creation and management of Spatial Data Infrastructures. 1Spatial’s Seb Lessware chairs the group, and the Vice-Chair is Patrick Cunningham from Blue Marble Geographics.

Following the commissioning and distribution of a survey to thousands of geospatial data suppliers and users from around the world, the WG is looking at existing spatial data quality specifications to see where they can be advanced and extended.

1Spatial’s Seb Lessware will be hosting a 30-minute Web Seminar, open to any OGC or non-OGC members with an interest in geospatial data quality. The seminar will explain the OGC, the work of the Data Quality WG and how to become involved in the initiative.
The seminar will take place on Tuesday 25th November at 3pm GMT (4pm CET, 7am PST, 8am MST, 9am CST, 10am EST) and will also involve Athina Trakas, as a guest speaker representing OGC Europe.

Participation is free and you can register now, online, at the 1Spatial website: http://www.1spatial.com/news_events/events/view_event.php?event=1140

"This survey is an important part of what the Working Group is doing for the geospatial technology industry," explained Sam Bacharach, Executive Director of Outreach, OGC. "We are pleased to provide people with the opportunity to get involved in the development of geospatial data quality standards. We thank them for supporting our research in this area, and we hope that they will continue to follow our progress and provide input."

Seb Lessware, Chair of the Spatial Data Quality Working Group, commented:

"We were very pleased with the number and range of organisations that took the time to complete the spatial data quality survey. These results show us that while there is general acceptance of the negative impact of spatial data errors, there is no consistent approach applied when resolving these issues. The survey showed the need for the Working Group to build on existing ISO data quality specifications and review other approaches as well."

Full details of the OGC, and of the Data Quality WG are available on the OGC website at www.opengeospatial.org and the results of the Data Quality WG survey are available as a PDF file, downloadable from the following location: http://portal.opengeospatial.org/files/?artifact_id=30415



Read the complete story ...


Review Article Be the first to review this article
Downstream : Solutuions for Post processing PCB Designs

True Circuits:

Featured Video
Editorial
Peggy AycinenaWhat Would Joe Do?
by Peggy Aycinena
Qualcomm’s Lu Dai: Energetic leadership for Accellera
More Editorial  
Jobs
Technical Marketing Manager Valley for EDA Careers at San Jose, CA
FAE FIELD APPLICATIONS SAN DIEGO for EDA Careers at San Diego, CA
Technical Support Engineer for EDA Careers at Freemont, CA
Development Engineer-WEB SKILLS +++ for EDA Careers at North Valley, CA
Sr. Staff Design SSD ASIC Engineer for Toshiba America Electronic Components. Inc. at San Jose, CA
SOC Logic Design Engineer for Global Foundaries at Santa Clara, CA
Upcoming Events
IoT Summit 2017 at Great America ballroom, Santa Clara Convention Center Santa Clara CA - Mar 16 - 17, 2017
SNUG Silicon Valley 2017 at Santa Clara Convention Center Santa Clara CA - Mar 22 - 23, 2017
CDNLive Silicon Valley 2017 at Santa Clara Convention Center Santa Clara CA - Apr 11 - 12, 2017
10th Anniversary of Cyber-Physical Systems Week at Pittsburgh, PA, USA PA - Apr 18 - 21, 2017
DownStream: Solutions for Post Processing PCB Designs
Verific: SystemVerilog & VHDL Parsers
TrueCircuits: UltraPLL



Internet Business Systems © 2017 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
595 Millich Dr., Suite 216, Campbell, CA 95008
+1 (408)-337-6870 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy Policy