Donatella Sciuto to Assume Role of President of IEEE Council on EDA

NEW YORK, NY -- (MARKET WIRE) -- Nov 15, 2011 -- Professor Donatella Sciuto from Politecnico di Milano in Italy will begin serving a two-year term as president of the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) January 1, 2012, along with a newly elected slate of officers.

Professor Sciuto's goal for CEDA in the coming term is to better coordinate IEEE design automation activities and to encourage greater participation from the EDA community.

Andreas Kuehlmann, senior vice president of R&D at Coverity, who has served as the CEDA president since January 2010, will become past president. Other incoming officers include Sani Nassif, manager at IBM, who has been named president-elect, and Yao-Wen Chang, professor at the National Taiwan University, who will become secretary. David Atienza, professor and director of the Embedded Systems Laboratory at EPFL, will serve as vice president of conferences. Shishpal Rawat, Intel's director of business enabling programs within the design technology solutions group, will fill the role of vice president of finance.

Elected to the position of Vice President of Publications is Professor Sachin Sapatnekar from the University of Minnesota, while Joel Phillips, research scientist at Cadence, will become vice president of activities.

CEDA's Board of Governors approved two new board positions responsible for working more closely with its six IEEE sponsoring societies, four technical committees and the growing number of CEDA chapters. The two new positions will be filled by William Joyner, director of Computer-Aided Design and Test at Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), who will become vice president of strategy, and Professor Rajesh Gupta of the University of California at San Diego. Professor Gupta will assume the role of vice president of publicity.

Also elected for 2012-13 term are seven standing committee chairs, including David Yeh, SRC's director of Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences, Awards; David Atienza, Conferences; Professor Bryan Ackland of Stevens Institute of Technology, Constitution and Bylaws; Shishpal Rawat, Finance; Andreas Kuehlmann, Nominations; Sachin Sapatnekar, Publications; and Joel Phillips, Activities.

Each will serve for a two-year term that begins January 1, 2012, and ends December 31, 2013.

CEDA's six sponsoring IEEE societies are Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits. Its four technical committees include the Computer-Aided Network DEsign (CANDE), Design and Test, Design Technology Council and the Test Technology Technical Council. CEDA Chapters have been formed in Belgium, Brazil, Taiwan, Tunisia, with chapters being formed in China and Texas.

About the IEEE Council on EDA

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits). It sponsors more than 12 conferences, including the Design Automation Conference (DAC), International Conference in CAD (ICCAD) and Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE). CEDA publishes IEEE Transactions on CAD and the IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. CEDA is increasingly involved in recognizing its leaders via the A. Richard Newton Award, Early Career Award and Phil Kaufmann Award. CEDA welcomes volunteers and local chapters. For more information, go to:

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

For more information, contact:
Nanette Collins 
Public Relations for the IEEE Council on EDA
(617) 437-1822 

Email Contact 

Review Article Be the first to review this article


Featured Video
Peggy AycinenaWhat Would Joe Do?
by Peggy Aycinena
Real Intent: Leveraging on Investments
More Editorial  
Senior R&D Engineer...Timing Closure Specialist for EDA Careers at San Jose or Anywhere, CA
Senior Front-End RTL Design AE for EDA Careers at San Jose, CA
Analog Hardware Engineer for Teradyne Inc at San Jose, CA
Field Application Engineer for Teradyne Inc at San Jose, CA
FPGA Engineer for Teradyne Inc at San Jose, CA
Technical Support Engineer EU/Germany/UK for EDA Careers at N/A, United Kingdom
Upcoming Events
CODES+ISSS 2017, Oct 15-20, 2017, Lotte Hotel, Seoul, South Korea at Lotte Hotel Seoul Korea (North) - Oct 15 - 20, 2017
DVCon 2017 Europe, Oct 16 - 17, 2017, Munich, Germany at Holiday Inn Munich City Centre Munich Germany - Oct 16 - 17, 2017
11th International Symposium on Networks-on-Chip (NOCS 2017) at Seoul Korea (South) - Oct 19 - 20, 2017

Internet Business Systems © 2017 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise