Open side-bar Menu
David Yeh
David Yeh

Outstanding Achievement in EDA to be Recognized During DAC

May 2nd, 2012 by David Yeh

Author: David Yeh
Director, Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences
Semiconductor Research Corporation
Chair of the CEDA Awards Committee

Our EDA industry is made of many talented and creative individuals, many of whom are members of IEEE and participate in CEDA’s activities. I hope you’ll be able to join us as we honor some of them with achievement awards during the opening session of DAC Tuesday, June 5, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco. We will also recognize three members of our community who are newly appointed Fellows of the IEEE.

The awards are the Donald O. Pederson for the best paper of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact, the Outstanding Service Contribution and the Phil Kaufman.

This year’s Donald O. Pederson Award recognizes the best paper of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design titled, “An Analytical Approach for Network-on-Chip Performance Analysis,” from the December 2010 issue. This year’s recipients are co-authors Umit Ogras, currently at Intel, Paul Bogdan, post-doctoral fellow at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), and  Radu Marculescu, professor of electrical and computer engineering at CMU.

Altan Odabasioglu, founder of Gear Design Solutions, EDA Technologist Mustafa Celik, and Larry Pileggi, Tanoto professor at CMU will receive the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation co-sponsored by CEDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA).  They co-authored “PRIMA: Passive Reduced-Order Interconnect Macromodeling Algorithm,” published in the August 1998 IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems.

The IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Contribution Award will be presented to past DAC General Chair Leon Stok, vice president of EDA at IBM.

The session will feature the presentation of the Phil Kaufman Award to Dr. C. L. David Liu, the William Mong honorary chair professor of Computer Science and former president of the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan. The yearly award, originally presented at ICCAD in 2011, is sponsored by CEDA and the Electronic Design Automation Consortium.

Naehyuck Chang from Seoul National University, Luis Silveira from the Technical University of Lisbon and Stephen Trimberger of Xilinx will be honored as the three new Fellows of the IEEE.

All of these distinguished individuals have made lasting contributions to our industry.

For more information on CEDA and these awards, please visit

Details on this year’s DAC can be found at

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

DownStream: Solutions for Post Processing PCB Designs
TrueCircuits: IoTPLL

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise