Open side-bar Menu
Dr. John Darringer, Manager of System-Level Design, IBM
Dr. John Darringer, Manager of System-Level Design, IBM
John is Manager of System-Level Design, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center. He received his Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University. He worked for Philips in Holland and then joined IBM Research in Yorktown Heights, N.Y. Darringer worked in program verification, logic synthesis, and held management … More »

Donatella Sciuto to Become CEDA President

November 14th, 2011 by Dr. John Darringer, Manager of System-Level Design, IBM
Professor Donatella Sciuto from Politecnico di Milano in Italy will begin serving a two-year term as CEDA president January 1.

Sets Goals for Better Coordination of Design Automation Activities, Greater Participation from EDA

When Professor Donatella Sciuto from Politecnico di Milano in Italy assumes the two-year term as CEDA president in January, she will begin implementing goals that include better coordination with IEEE design automation activities and encouraging greater participation from the EDA community. 

Helping her meet these goals will be a new slate of officers, two of whom are assuming new positions responsible for working more closely with CEDA’s six IEEE sponsoring societies, four technical committees and the growing number of CEDA chapters. 

The six sponsoring IEEE societies are Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits.  Its four technical committees include the Computer-Aided Network DEsign (CANDE), Design and Test, Design Technology Council and the Test Technology Technical Council.  CEDA Chapters have been formed in Belgium, Brazil, Taiwan, Tunisia, with chapters being formed in China and Texas.

The new positions will be filled by William Joyner, director of Computer-Aided Design and Test at Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), who will become vice president of strategy.  Professor Rajesh Gupta of the University of California at San Diego will assume the role of vice president of publicity.

Andreas Kuehlmann, senior vice president of R&D at Coverity, who has served as the CEDA president since January 2010, will become past president.  Other incoming officers include Sani Nassif, manager at IBM, who has been named president-elect, and Yao-Wen Chang, professor at the National Taiwan University, who will become secretary.  David Atienza, professor and director of the Embedded Systems Laboratory at EPFL, will serve as vice president of conferences.  Shishpal Rawat, Intel’s director of business enabling programs within the design technology solutions group, will fill the role of vice president of finance.

Elected to the position of Vice President of Publications is Professor Sachin Sapatnekar from the University of Minnesota, while Joel Phillips, research scientist at Cadence, will become vice president of activities. 

Also elected for 2012-13 term are seven standing committee chairs, including:

  • Awards David Yeh, SRC’s director of Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences
  • Conferences David Atienza
  • Constitution and Bylaws Professor Bryan Ackland of Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Finance Shishpal Rawat
  • Nominations Andreas Kuehlmann
  • Publications Sachin Sapatnekar
  • Activities Joel Phillips

Each will serve for a two-year term that begins January 1, 2012, and ends December 31, 2013.

In a future blog post, Andreas Kuehlmann will formally introduce Donatella Scuito.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

DownStream: Solutions for Post Processing PCB Designs
TrueCircuits: UltraPLL

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise