Open side-bar Menu

Archive for May, 2010

CEDA Welcomes the Serial Entrepreneur and Inventor Steve Teig to DAC

Wednesday, May 26th, 2010

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) will welcome the serial entrepreneur and inventor Steve Teig, president and chief technology officer (CTO) of Tabula, to DAC for a luncheon talk on an approach to move beyond von Neumann computing.
The lunch, open to all DAC attendees on a first-come, first-served basis, will be held Tuesday, June 15, from noon-2 p.m. in Room #303 at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, Calif.

Teig, whose latest invention is Tabula’s Spacetime 3-Dimensional Programmable Logic Architecture, will describe a way to go beyond von Neumann computing.  He describes his approach as more physically aware and one in which architecture, hardware and software are designed simultaneously.  The “von Neumann architecture” for computers, invented mostly by Turing but popularized by the more famous von Neumann, is readily implemented in hardware, easily understood by software developers, and amenable to compilation from a wide variety of programming languages. It however suffers from the fundamental, non-physical assumption that reading from a memory location takes negligible, constant time independent of the size of the memory. As modern systems have evolved, this assumption has pushed us to being power inefficient, necessitating the need to look beyond von Neumann computing.

For many DAC attendees, Teig needs no introduction.  For those who have never met him, Tabula, a fabless semiconductor company that has developed a new category of 3-D Programmable Logic Devices (3PLDs), is just his latest startup.  Within EDA, he invented compiled-code logic simulation and led the development of the first simulator based on that technology.  As CTO and co-founder of Tangent Systems, he invented the principal place-and-route algorithms for the Tancell and Tangate products (first commercial, timing-driven P&R system and the first to use analytical placement).
Teig was co-CTO of Cadence Design Systems, joining Cadence through its acquisition of Simplex Solutions, where he was CTO.  He also co-founded two successful biotechnology companies –– CombiChem and BioCAD.  Teig holds more than 220 patents.

Birds of a Feather Session at DAC
And, please join the discussion on social media.  I’m moderating a Birds of a Feather session hosted and organized by CEDA during DAC on this hot, hot, hot topic Tuesday, June 15, from 6:30-8 p.m. in Room 209 in the Anaheim Convention Center.
The discussion will focus on trends in social media and on ways to better utilize social media channels to reach a wider EDA audience.  My goal is to determine which mechanisms are used by the EDA community and how to reach them.  All DAC attendees are welcome.  Please come with questions and ideas.

For more details, visit the CEDA website located at:
Information on DAC can be found at:
See you in Anaheim!

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation’s Award Program

Monday, May 3rd, 2010

The IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA) actively recognizes the scientific activities of the members of the EDA community by sponsoring or co-sponsoring different awards in the field.
Each year, CEDA sponsors the Donald Pederson Award for best paper in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, and the William McCalla Award for best paper at the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design, recognizing outstanding publications.

The council co-sponsors with the EDA Consortium the Phil Kaufman Award for distinguished contributions to EDA.  It honors an individual who has had demonstrable impact on the field of electronic design through contributions in one of the categories of business, industry direction and promotion, technology and engineering or educational and mentoring.
In 2009, the recipient of the award was Professor Randal Bryant from Carnegie Mellon University for his seminal technological breakthroughs in the area of formal verification.
The award was established in 1994 and the most recent recipients were Aart de Geus in 2008 and Robert K. Brayton in 2007.  The Kaufmann Award is the major award normally given to a senior person in the field for distinguished contributions.  The deadline for nominations to the 2010 Award is June 30.

To complement this award, CEDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation jointly proposed the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award intended for contributors whose impact is recognized over a significant period of time.
The award honors A. Richard Newton who died in 2007.  Professor Newton was a luminary in the design automation area in academia and industry, faculty contributor and advisor to many of the leaders in the field, company founder, and dean of engineering at the University of California at Berkeley.

Professor Newton embodied the idea of technical impact that this award seeks to recognize.  The first award for outstanding technical contribution was presented at the Design Automation Conference in 2009 to Robert K. Brayton, Richard Rudell, Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli and Albert R. Wang for their seminal paper, “MIS: A Multiple-Level Logic Optimization System.”

The 2010 recipient is Professor Bryant for developing Reduced Ordered Binary Decision Diagrams that form the foundation for symbolic manipulation of logic designs with broad impacts in academia and industry.

To honor and encourage brilliant, young researchers at the beginning of their career in EDA, CEDA started in 2009 the sponsorship of IEEE CEDA Early Career Award.  This award recognizes an individual who has made innovative and substantial technical contributions to EDA in the early stages of her or his career –– that is, no more than eight years after their highest educational degree has been awarded.

The first recipient was Igor Markov from University of Michigan.  The 2010 nominations are closed and the award will be presented at ICCAD 2010.

Finally, CEDA has established a new award to honor volunteers and contributors with outstanding service to its benefit and advancement.  The Awards Committee decided to award its “fathers” who were instrumental to its creation and first steps with the IEEE CEDA Distinguished Service Award.  Award recipients are:  Giovanni de Micheli, Al Dunlop and Dick Smith.  The award will be presented at the Opening Session of DAC 2010 in June.

DownStream: Solutions for Post Processing PCB Designs
Verific: SystemVerilog & VHDL Parsers
TrueCircuits: IoTPLL

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise